Coffee Time Romance & More




The Pink Carnation Series
Book 1-The Secret History of the Pink Carnation
Book 2-The Masque of the Black Tulip
Book 3-The Deception of the Emerald Ring
Book 4-The Seduction of the Crimson Rose
Book 5-The Temptation of the Night Jasmine
Book 6-The Betrayal of the Blood Lily
Book 7-The Mischief of the Mistletoe
Book 8-The Orchid Affair

ISBN: 978-0-525-95033-2
January 31, 2008
Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Publishing Group
375 Hudson Street, New York, NY
400 pages
Rating: 5 cups

Eloise Kelly is plugging along trying to research 19th century espionage. Along the way, she meets handsome Colin Selwick and finds herself falling for him. his family holds files that could help her with her dissertation and she worries that he will think she has ulterior motives toward him. Besides, she becomes tongue tied when she is around him and nothing much comes out of her mouth.

Mary Alsworthy feels slighted by her family, so when Lord Vaughan gives her an opportunity to help him with an assignment, she figures she does not have much to lose. She falls for Lord Vaughan but it seems he does not return her feelings. She tries to make him jealous but gets no response. Finally, she decides to just keep focused on the task at hand and see where it gets her.

Eloise feels she is getting nowhere in either her schoolwork or her personal life. She keeps running into Colin Selwick and yet there seems to be nothing between them. So she keeps her focus on studying the lives of the people she needs for her dissertation. Maybe she can finally get somewhere with it and have a sense of accomplishment. Mary does not want to rely on her family for another season and hopes to find someone to support her wishes. Lord Vaughan is certainly not her first choice but she does not want to turn down his offer of help. Things could get interesting between them if only he would let it.

I have long waited for this fourth book of the series. Having read the previous three novels, events in this book kept me on the edge of my seat. This is definitely a series worth your time if you like historical novels with a bit of contemporary mixed in. The characters seem so real no matter what time period they live in. It was easy to follow the difference in times although I did get frustrated with the breaks because at times I was left wanting more. Ms. Willig is an inspiration with her ability to write and keep things interesting. This is one author that I enjoy immensely and I cannot wait to see what happens in the fifth novel of the series. The one thing I recommend is you read the books in order starting with The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. Things will definitely make more sense that way.

Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance
Reviewer for Karen Find Out About New Books



Awards | Author Services |  Contact Information  | New Author Information