Coffee Time Romance & More

 

 

 

 

 

CUT TO THE QUICK
DIANNE EMLEY
ISBN E-Book-9780345504586/Paperback-9780345486202/Audiobook-9781415947098
January 2009
Ballantine Books, a division of Random House Inc.
www.randomhouse.com
E-Book/Paperback/Audiobook
$6.99/$6.99/$22.50
363 Pages
Fiction-Suspense
Rating: 3 Cups

Homicide detective Nan Vining has looked death in the face and survived. A year ago she was brutally attacked and left for dead by T.B. Mann-The Bad Man. Back to work once again, she will stop at nothing to uncover who her mysterious attacker is.

Jim Kissick has come to realize one thing about life in general and his sexy partner, Nan. After she was left for dead and he was injured in the line of duty, he is ready to cross the line between friendship and lovers. Jim jumps at the opportunity when a new case gives him the chance to work up close and personal with her.

On a hot and steamy evening in Pasadena, California, a man dressed as a woman stabs a business tycoon to death and then proceeds to hack him to pieces. When Jim and Nan come upon the gruesome scene, both are shaken at the ghastly poses the killer left. Following the clues, Jim and Nan follow a madman down a dangerous path filled with perilous missions and risky obstacles. The twists and turns lead them to a man intent on killing anyone who gets in his way, and they will be considered collateral damage.

Ms. Emley has written an edge-of-your-seat thriller that will take you on the ride of your life. Filled with intrigue, mystery, and suspense, Cut To The Quick will have you guessing until the very end. While this story was well written, at times it was a little confusing as I have not read the first book in the series. The way Nan struggles with her everyday paranoia is very realistic, and it is heartbreaking to see such a strong woman fight to survive. Fans of Lisa Jackson and Iris Johansen will find a similar writing style in Ms. Emley.

Caution: This tale contains strong language as well as blood and gore.

Danielle
Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance & More

 

eMail this Review

 

 

 

 

Awards | Author Services |  Contact Information  | New Author Information